Members & Meetings

Membership of the Commission on Judicial Performance

Pursuant to the California Constitution, article VI, section 8, the commission is composed of 11 members: one justice of a court of appeal and two judges of superior courts appointed by the Supreme Court; two attorneys appointed by the Governor; and six lay citizens, two appointed by the Governor, two appointed by the Senate Committee on Rules and two appointed by the Speaker of the Assembly. Members are appointed to four-year terms. A member whose term has expired may continue to serve until the vacancy has been filled by the appointing authority; however, no member shall serve for more than a total of 10 years. The members of the commission do not receive a salary but are reimbursed for expenses relating to commission business. The commission members elect a chairperson and vice-chairperson annually.

Roster of Commission Members

Commission Meetings

The┬ácommission meets approximately seven times a year at the commission’s office in San Francisco. If a public hearing is scheduled, a press release is issued. See Pending Cases – Press Releases & Documents.

Commission Meetings Schedule